ACE Student Programs


About the ACE Internship Program


The ACE Internship was created in the early 1990’s by William Gordean, ACE, and has been directed by Lori Jane Coleman, ACE, and co-chaired by Diana Friedberg, ACE for nearly two decades. As of 2015, the internship program is chaired by Carsten Kurpanek and co-chaired by Tyler Nelson, both ACE intern alumni. The program has been carefully streamlined through the years to guarantee that the rules of each studio, production, and editing room are met.

ACE Intern alumni have becomes successful assistant editors and some have made the jump to editor, e.g. Hunter Via, ACE (The Walking Dead, The Mist), Mark Hartzell (True Blood, Resurrection, Scream) and Julia Wong, ACE (Good Luck Chuck, Red Riding Hood, Hercules). This success is due to the practical experience, networking opportunities, and professional insights these budding editors receive while attending the program.

As of 2014, NAB has been sponsoring the program so that ACE can offer a stipend to each intern. This program has also been sanctioned by the Motion Picture Editors Guild.


How the Internship Program Works>>


The ACE Student Editing Competition


Current students of film or editing may enter the ACE Student Editing Competition. Applicants must only provide the name of the school or university where they are studying and the name of a professor or teacher.  There is a an entry fee of $125 which is paid prior to being directed to the application.

Approved applicants are invited to edit and submit a set of video dailies. The entries are judged by a panel of professional film editors and the three finalists are guests at the annual ACE Eddie Awards in February. Each finalist receives a plaque.

The winner receives a special Student Award and publicity in the Hollywood trade papers. ACE does not pay transportation or hotel expenses for out-of-town students.


The ACE Student Editing Competition Process>>