Board Message 4Q


4th Qtr, 2019

ACE is delighted to announce that two distinguished editors and ACE past presidents – Alan Heim, ACE, and Tina Hirsch, ACE – will be honored with ACE Career Achievement Awards, on Jan. 17 at the 70th ACE Eddie Awards.

Alan Heim won an Academy Award®, BAFTA® and ACE Eddie for Bob Fosse’s All That Jazz in 1979, after earning one prior Oscar® nomination for Sidney Lumet’s Network in 1976. He won two additional Eddie Awards for Introducing Dorothy Dandridge and Grey Gardens, and shared an Emmy® for his work on the TV miniseries, Holocaust. Recently, Heim completed more than 25 years of service on the ACE Board of Directors, which included serving four terms as president, from 2004-2008 and 2012-2016, and four terms as vice president, from 2008-2012 and 2016-2019, during which time he was tireless in his advocation of our craft.

Tina Hirsch’s early feature work began with Macon County Line in 1974 and followed with Roger Corman’s Big Bad Mama, Death Race 2000 and Eat My Dust! When she graduated from ‘The Corman School,’ she went on to edit films such as The Driver, Gremlins, Explorers, Twilight Zone: The Movie, More American Graffiti and Dante’s Peak.

As an editor on The West Wing, Tina earned an Eddie Award and Emmy nomination for her work on the popular TV series. Other TV achievements include the pilot of Party of Five, an Eddie nomination for the miniseries Tom Clancy’s Op-Center, as well as for the TV movie Behind the Mask and another Emmy and Eddie nomination for the TV movie Back When We Were Grownups.

During her nearly 30 years on the Board of Directors, Hirsch was the Chairman of the Membership Committee and participated on committees granting ACE internships and promoting diversity within the organization. In 2000, Hirsch became the first woman to be elected President of ACE, a post she held from 2000-2004.

In addition, Hirsch has been an adjunct professor of editing at USC’s School of Cinematic Arts from 2003 to 2016. We congratulate them both on such well-deserved honors. They have made important contributions to the art and craft of editing through their hard work and dedication. In addition, having both served as President of ACE, they brought tremendous awareness and respect to the role of the editor.

Separately, we are pleased to announce that the ACE Student Award has been renamed The Anne V. Coates Student Award, in honor of the iconic editor. The late Ann V. Coates, ACE, earned an Academy Award for David Lean’s Lawrence of Arabia and received an Honorary Award at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 2016 Governors Awards. She earned four additional Oscar nominations for Becket, The Elephant Man, In the Line of Fire and Out of Sight.