ACE Luau 2019


4th Qtr, 2019

Allan Holzman, ACE, who conceived ACE’s annual “Invisible Art, Visible Artists” preAcademy Awards® series, received the society’s Heritage Award during the ACE Board Installation Luau, Aug. 27 at Toluca Lake-based Ca Del Sole.

Presenting the award, ACE president Stephen Rivkin, ACE, noted that in addition to IAVA, Holzman suggested that ACE team up with a publicist, and both efforts have helped to raise awareness of editing and of ACE. He described Holzman as a “filmmaking chameleon, working in narrative, documentary, big budget and independent, genres from comedy to drama, action to musical.”

Rivkin also gave special thanks to outgoing Vice President, Alan Heim, ACE, who chose not to run for re-election after more than 25 years on the board. “He will always be an inspiration to the ACE board, and we hope you don’t stay away too long,” he said. Heim served four terms as president and four as vice president.

During the luau, Rivkin announced the results of the board elections. Carol Littleton, ACE, was named vice president and Stephen Lovejoy, ACE, was named treasurer. Elected Directors were Maysie Hoy, ACE; Bonnie Koehler, ACE; Mary Jo Markey, ACE; and Kevin Tent, ACE. Anita Brandt Burgoyne, ACE, was elected to a one-year term, taking over Littleton’s director seat. Jacqueline Cambas, ACE, was elected life member. Kate Amend, ACE; Dana Glauberman, ACE; Mark Helfrich, ACE; and Andrew Seklir, ACE, were given associate board seats. On behalf of ACE, Rivkin thanked Pivotal Post, which hosted the event.